top of page

Film & Video

"Pruning" is a short film co-created by Anto Astudillo and Kelley Van Dilla. As we deepen our friendship, we've discovered wonderful synchronicities in our lived experiences as trans and queer filmmakers, and we decided we wanted to create something together!

 

The film follows Polo in their day-to-day life while they navigate medically transitioning, looking for work, and living alone in a lonely city. Though they find caring for plants easier than caring for themselves, an elder wise woman, Tia Silvia, constantly checks in on them and helps them on their journey.

 

Every night Polo has the same dream: that they're slowly turning into a being made of plants.

 

For more information visit:

https://shoutout.wix.com/so/1aOXjHGRM?languageTag=en

Pruning Crew:

Directors-Writers: Kelley Van Dilla and Anto Astudillo

Camera-DP: Ned Gaynor, Ashika Kuruvilla

Sound and AC: Ashika Kuruvilla, Iman "King" Carter

Sound, lighting & grip: Vander

Costume sculptor & Special effects artist: Annie Temmink

Make-up Artist: Julia Morgan Fox

PA & Boom Op: Iman "King" Carter

PA & BTS: Ari Smith

PA & Kraft Services: Kendall Burger

PA: Mateo Del Campo

Set Producer: Claudia Carrasco

Pre-production coordinator and storyboard: Lupe Campos

 

Pruning Cast:

Anto Astudillo

Silvia Fernandez-Stein

Kelley Van Dilla

Mecha

Still from 'Pruning' short film

In the fashion film "I remembered that I have free will," Raya, feeling societal pressure, reluctantly dives into the dating scene but finds herself uninterested in most of her encounters. Just as she connects with someone, they reject her unexpectedly, leading her to seek comfort in an old flame. Frustrated by all these encounters, Raya decides that she does not want to comply with any dating rules anymore. She remembers that she has free will and breaks free from all this dating nonsense.

 

Cast & Crew Credits

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt27180867/fullcredits/?ref_=tt_cl_sm

Cast

Raya: Christina Thanos @christinasabbia

Feli: Vianca Camila Perez @viancapb

Alva: Kiara Pace @kiara_ailene 

The Psychic: Nia Rose @niaarosee

The Sudoku Guy: August Broos @augustbroos

The Soft Boy: Mason Kelly @imasonkelly

The Narcissist: Kimberly Borrero @itskim.b

The Bookish Boy: Dylan Lorenzo @dylanlorz

The Red Flag: Kitty Lever @kittylever

Narrator: Julie Porlein 

 

Crew

Written & directed by: Miriam Lena Haspel @miriamlenahaspel 

Styling: Miriam Lena Haspel @miriamlenahaspel, Isabella Rusz @isa_eliass

DP: Anneka Bunnag @anneka.photo_

1.AC: Trevor Brenden @trevorbrenden 

2.AC: Filip Cvetkovic @1986ph 

Gaffer: Aaron Hu @_aaronhu_, Kaashvi Agarwal @kaashvi_agarwal

Sound: Finn Hamre-Myers @finn_thm, Kaashvi Agarwal @kaashvi_agarwal

Production Design: Miriam Lena Haspel @miriamlenahaspel 

Set Dresser: Enora Floch @enoraflochliva 

Hair Stylist: April Andreu @april.andreu

Hair Assistant: Misha Mclea @mi__sha
Makeup: Maria Stocker @mstockermakeup, Julia Morgan Fox @juliamorganfoxmakeup

Wardrobe: Niamh Boyle @niamh.mb, Francesca Caporali @fraancio

Set Photography: Vasilis Sakkos @vasiliarts, Hannah Kim @thehannahkim

1.AD: Gabriel Rodriguez-Fuller @veritablepictures

PA: Claire Martin @clairavaux

Runner: Niels Cremer @niels.cremer

Catering: Lavanya Vinyaka @i._was._here._


 

Post

Editor: Pia Mozet @piamzt

Music: Laura Adama @adama.jllh

Sound Design: Cäcilie Willkommen @zile_2501, Freya Siewert @freya_swt

Color Grading: Johannes Heller @helleronearth 

Graphics: Henry Boebst @ongrih

VFX: Valentin Bolte @valaentin_

Sakkos_Vasili-03334.jpg
bottom of page